Chossudovsky: Who will be Attending the Bilderberg Meeting?

What will be discussed behind closed doors? Each year, the Bilderberg venue brings together members of the financial and corporate elite, politicians, hand picked scholars, journalists and scientists. It is An Anglo-Western European North American Venue, with participants from 21 Western countries, (i.e Western Europe, US and Canada). With the exception of British born Polish Minister of Finance, Jacek Rostowski, there are no participants from Eastern Europe, the Balkans, Asia, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East, with the exception of Turkey. There are 14 women out of 140 participants. The official website of the Bilderberg describes the venue as a forum for informal, off the record discussion about megatrends and the major issues facing the world. Semi secrecy prevails: While crucial negotiations are undertaken, leading to far reaching decisions, Prime Ministers and Finance Ministers in attendance are participating in their personal capacity. They are required not to report to Cabinet or to the Legislature. This year's 61st meeting is scheduled to be held
at the Grove Hotel near Watford, Hertfordshire, UK, June 6-9, 2013. Various dimensions of the New World Order, including the global economic crisis, the wars in the Middle East, biotechnology, cyber warfare and Homeland security will be discussed behind closed doors. Thanks to the private nature of the conference, the participants are not bound by the conventions of office. or by pre-agreed positions
As such, they can take time to listen, reflect and gather insights. There is no detailed agenda, no resolutions are proposed, no votes are taken, and no policy statements are issued. The Venue will regroup some 140 participants, including George Osborne, UK Chancellor of the Exchequer, Henry Kissinger, Timothy Geithner, former Secretary of the Treasury, Gen, David Petraeous, former head of the CIA, Christine Lagarde, Managing Director of the IMF, Richard N. Perle, prominent adviser to the Bush Junior administration, Jeff Bezos, Founder and CEO of Amazon.com, Eric Schmidt of Google, two former presidents of the World Bank, Lames D. Wolfensohn and Robert B. Zoellick, among others. Prominent members of the Anglo American financial establishment include David Wright, Vice Chairman of Barklays, J. Michael Evans, Vice Chairman of Goldman Sachs, Douglas J. Flint, Group Chairman of HSBC, Kenneth M. Jacobs, Chairman and CEO of Lazard, Peter D. Sutherland, chairman of Goldman Sachs International, Edmund Clark, President and CEO of Canada's TD Bank Group, The Swiss banking establishment which overseas billions of dollars in undeclared numbered bank accounts, is represented by Dr. Thomas Jakob Ulrich Jordan, the recently appointed Chairman of the Governing Board of the Schweizerishen Nationalbank (Swiss National Bank).      

No comments: